Dallas Symphony
Detroit Symphony
Rochester Philharmonic
American Pianists Association
American Composer's Orchestra
CityMusic Cleveland Chamber Orchestra 



  • Guggenheim Award 2004
  • Ohio Council for the Arts Individual Fellowship 2005
  • Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Music 2006
  • Meet the Composer Commissioning Award 2010
  • National Endowment for the Arts Award 2012, 2003


Naxos has just released Margaret Brouwer's newest chamber CD, "Shattered." It is now available for purchase on Amazon.

  “Ms. Brouwer has one of the most delicate ears and inventive imaginations among contemporary American composers.”          
- Lawson Taitte, Dallas Morning News

"...never loses sense of that essential musical ingredient called melody."
-    Steven Ritter, Fanfare

"Brouwer finds a keen balance between contemporary and tonal language"
-    Donald Rosenberg, Cleveland Plain Dealer

"Brouwer's talent for orchestration is apparent"
-    Jeff Dunn, San Francisco Chronicle 






"Musically, the contemporary instrumental works on this release tend toward an effective fusion of traditional and extended techniques.  Unlike many such attempts, the music heard here blends the two without the extended materials becoming gimmicky or distracting.  In fact, the nuanced and appropriate inclusion of these elements enhances the music, achieving in an arena where musical success is often elusive."  Read the full review on Second Inversion

"Margaret Brouwer has an ear for creating some exquisite sounds and textures that listeners will find beguiling. The performances are first rate as is the recording ..."   Read the full review on The Classical Reviewer